BUY TICKETS

Case #1937: unknown neuroinfection.

The disease resulted in fever, inflammation of the brain, paralysis, and often ended fatally. It appeared only in summer time. The indigenous population did not suffer from this strange disease as much as the settlers.

Moscow specialists were involved in the study of the virus. Three complex research expeditions were organized in 1937-1938, in which specialists of different profiles took part.

The 1937 expedition led by Prof. Lev Alexandrovich Zilber was of great importance in the discovery of the new virus.

The expedition consisted of:

- virologists Elizaveta Levkovich, Mikhail Chumakov, Nikolai Ryzhov, A.M. Tkacheva, Alexandra Sheboldaeva, Antonina Shubladze;

- epidemiologists Tamara Safonova, Vitalia Olshevskaya;

- entomologists Alexander Gutsevich, Alexandra Skrynik, and Alexander Monchadsky;

- pathomorphologists Pavel Grachev, Alexander Kestner;

- Laboratory virologists Galina Zorina-Nikolayeva and Evgenia Gnevysheva.

They were joined by a group of doctors-bacteriologists, neurologists and infectious disease specialists: Israel Filkel, Alexander Panov, Alexei Shapoval, who worked in the Far East.

It was the head of the neurological department of the Vladivostok military hospital, Alexander Panov, who first described the new neuroinfection in 1934, but defined it as epidemic encephalitis or adult poliomyelitis, and in 1935 prepared a report to the People's Commissariat of Health on the new disease. His pioneering work laid the clinical foundation for the remarkable discoveries of the People's Commissariat of Health expeditions of 1937-1939.

The expedition also included Valentin Solovyev, a doctor of the Vladivostok hospital, a bacteriologist of the sanitary-epidemiological laboratory, seconded to the expedition by the sanitary department of the Pacific Ocean Fleet (POF). Subsequently, he took part in the expeditions of 1938-1939.

When approving the composition of the expedition, Lev Zilber resolutely refused the proposal of the People's Commissariat of Health to staff the group with professors. He relied on young scientists (mostly under 30 years of age), enthusiastic and able to easily accept new ideas and methods. Many years later, he recalled:

"Of course I collected them and warned them of the dangers and difficulties and everything else; the young people had in my eyes the great advantage of not being bound by old misconceptions about the disease."

The expedition participants traveled by rail in a passenger Pullman car, laboratory equipment and animals (5 thousand guinea pigs and mice) - in the luggage compartment. Only the monkeys were missing. At Lev Zilber's request, macaques were purchased in Japan and sent to meet the expedition. The monkeys were needed for decisive experiments.

Each participant of the expedition realized that ahead of them awaited a "meeting" with a new neuroinfection, for which there is no cure yet. In case of the disease, the only hope is to rely on the strength and endurance of the organism.

Prof. Silber made an original decision.

He began to feed his employees eggs. They were bought in large quantities at the stations. The expedition members at first did not understand the strange behavior of their chief and were against feeding with eggs. But protests did not help. The chief at each large station invariably gave each member of the expedition a new portion of eggs, either soft-boiled or hard-boiled, and said in a moralizing manner:

"Eat up! The body's defenses don't come out of thin air. You bacteriologists should know that proteins are the material basis of immunity. Prepare to battle disease with six eggs a day. No less!"

During the train ride, the expedition's first responsibility was to take care of five thousand white mice: they die easily in normal laboratory conditions, and it is even more difficult to take care of them on the road. At every train stop, the staff together with the head of the expedition ran to the baggage car to feed the mice and clean their cages.

On the trip there were "Scientific Conferences on Wheels": they familiarized themselves with foreign literature on diseases of the Far East resembling the disease in the taiga. Prof. Zilber then organized conferences, and at them the participants of the expedition read abstracts and made reports.

North Unit in Obor. In the 1st row (from left to right): 1. Mirra - employee of the vivarium, 2. I.S. Glazunov; 2nd row (from left to right): 1. V.D. Soloviev, 2. A.N. Shapoval, 3. N.Y. Utkina, 4. M.P. Cherviakov, 5. V.A. Korshunova; 3rd row: P.E. Grachev.

The 1937 expedition worked from May to August and was divided into two groups. The northern group worked under the leadership of Elizaveta Levkovich in the hotbed of the disease - in the settlement of Obor (Khabarovsk Krai), the southern group - under the leadership of Alexandra Danilovna Sheboldaeva - at the bases of the Primorsky Krai Hospital, the Vladivostok Naval Hospital and other medical institutions of the Talnakh Concentration Fleet.

The composition of the second Far Eastern tick expedition of 1938 remained largely the same. Elizaveta Levkovich was appointed head of the northern Obor unit, and Professor Evgeny Pavlovsky, head of the department of the Military Medical Academy, was appointed head of the expedition.

The main focus of the expedition was the study of virus circulation and natural foci of infection, and the population was examined for immunity to tick-borne encephalitis. Immunity to the virus was detected in 43% residents of taiga settlements, who were frequently exposed to infection, and only in 3% administrative staff.

At the exhibition "Tick. Caught red-handed" you will see the participants of the second Far Eastern expedition in 1938 from the collection of the Museum of Local History of the Lazo Municipal District (Pereyaslavka settlement, Khabarovsk Krai).

BUY TICKETS
Khabarovsk,
Shevchenko st., 11
look at the map
Mon: Day off
Tues-Whs: 10:00-18:00
Sanitation Day:
last Friday of the month
Buy tickets

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ
Уважаемые гости Гродековского музея! Экспозиция "Развитие Хабаровского края во второй половине XX в." закрыта для посещения по техническим причинам. Приносим извинения за доставленные неудобства.

Дело №1937: неизвестная нейроинфекция

Болезнь приводила к лихорадке, появлялось воспаление мозга, параличи, а часто заканчивалась летально. Она появлялась только в летнее время. Коренное население при этом странной болезнью так ярко, как переселенцы, не страдало.

К изучению вируса были привлечены московские специалисты. Были снаряжены три комплексные научно-исследовательские экспедиции 1937-1938 гг., в которых приняли участие специалисты разного профиля.

Важное значение в открытии нового вируса имела экспедиция 1937 года, которую возглавил профессор Лев Александрович Зильбер.

В состав экспедиции вошли:

· вирусологи Елизавета Левкович, Михаил Чумаков, Николай Рыжов, А.М. Ткачева, Александра Шеболдаева, Антонина Шубладзе;

· эпидемиологи Тамара Сафонова, Виталия Ольшевская;

· энтомологи Александр Гуцевич, Александра Скрыник, Александр Мончадский;

· патоморфологи Павел Грачев, Александр Кестнер;

· лаборанты-вирусологи Галина Зорина-Николаева и Евгения Гневышева.

К ним присоединилась группа врачей-бактериологов, невропатологов и инфекционистов: Израиль Филькель, Александр Панов, Aлексей Шаповал, работавших на Дальнем Востоке.

Именно начальник неврологического отделения военного госпиталя города Владивостока Александр Панов впервые описал новую нейроинфекцию в 1934 году, но определил ее как эпидемический энцефалит или полиомиелит взрослых, а в 1935 году подготовил докладную записку в Наркомздрав о новом заболевании. Его пионерские работы заложили клинический фундамент замечательных открытий экспедиций Наркомздрава 1937-1939 гг.

В состав экспедиции вошел и Валентин Соловьев – врач Владивостокского госпиталя, бактериолог санитарно-эпидемиологической лаборатории, прикомандированный к экспедиции санитарным отделом Тихоокеанского флота (ТОФ). Впоследствии он принял участие в экспедициях 1938-1939 гг.

При утверждении состава экспедиции Лев Зильбер решительно отказался от предложения Наркомздрава укомплектовать группу профессорами. Он сделал ставку на молодых ученых (в основном в возрасте до 30 лет), полных энтузиазма и способных легко воспринимать новые идеи и методы. Спустя много лет он вспоминал:

«Конечно, я их собрал и предупредил об опасностях и трудностях и обо всем остальном; молодые люди имели в моих глазах огромное преимущество – они не были связаны старыми заблуждениями в отношении этого заболевания».

Участники экспедиции ехали по железной дороге в пассажирском пульмановском вагоне, лабораторное оборудование и животные (5 тысяч морских свинок и мышей) – в багажном отделении. Не хватало только обезьян. По просьбе Льва Зильбера макаки были закуплены в Японии и отправлены навстречу экспедиции. Обезьяны были нужны для решающих экспериментов.

Каждый участник экспедиции понимал, что впереди его ждет «встреча» с новой нейроинфекцией, от которой пока не существует лекарств. В случае заболевания только одна надежда – на силы и выносливость организма.

Профессор Зильбер принял оригинальное решение.

Он начал закармливать своих сотрудников яйцами. Их в большом количестве закупали на станциях. Участники экспедиции вначале не понимали странного поведения своего шефа и были против питания яйцами. Но протесты не помогали. Начальник на каждой большой станции неизменно выдавал каждому участнику экспедиции новую порцию яиц, всмятку или вкрутую, и нравоучительно приговаривал:

«Ешьте! Защитные силы организма не из воздуха берутся. Вы, бактериологи, должны знать, что белки – материальная основа иммунитета. Готовьтесь к сражению с болезнью 6 яиц в день. Не меньше!»

Во время поездки на поезде, прежде всего, на плечи экспедиции легла забота о пяти тысячах белых мышей: они легко погибают и в обычных лабораторных условиях, а в дороге о них заботится еще труднее. На каждой остановке поезда сотрудники вместе с начальником экспедиции бегали в багажный вагон: кормить мышей и чистить их клетки.

В поездке проходили «Научные конференций на колесах»: знакомились с иностранной литературой, посвященной болезням Дальнего Востока, напоминающим заболевание в тайге. Профессор Зильбер затем устраивал конференции, и на них участники экспедиции читали рефераты, делали доклады.

Северный отряд в Оборе. В 1-м ряду (слева-направо): 1. Мирра – работница вивария, 2. И.С. Глазунов;2 ряд (слева-направо): 1. В.Д. Соловьев, 2. А.Н. Шаповал, 3. Н.Я. Уткина, 4. М.П. Червяков, 5. В.А. Коршунова; 3-м ряд: П.Е. Грачев.

Экспедиция 1937 года работала с мая по август и была разделена на две группы. Северная работала под руководством Елизаветы Левкович в очаге заболевания – в поселке Обор (Хабаровского края), южная – под началом Александры Даниловны Шеболдаевой – на базах Приморской краевой больницы, Владивостокского военно-морского госпиталя и других медицинских учреждений ТОФ.

Состав второй дальневосточной клещевой экспедиции 1938 года в основном остался прежним. Начальником северного Оборского отряда назначена Елизавета Левкович, начальником экспедиции – профессор Евгений Павловский – начальник кафедры Военно-медицинской академии.

Основным направлением экспедиции было изучение циркуляции вируса и природных очагов инфекции, проводилось обследование населения на наличие иммунитета к клещевому энцефалиту. Иммунитет к вирусу был обнаружен у 43% жителей таежных поселков, которые часто подвергались инфицированию, и только у 3% работников административного аппарата.

На выставке «Клещ. Поймать с поличным» вы увидите участников второй дальневосточной экспедиции 1938 года из собрания Краеведческого музея муниципального района имени Лазо (п. Переяславка Хабаровского края).

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ
г. Хабаровск,
ул. Шевченко, 11
смотреть на карте
Пн: Выходной
Вт–Вс: 10:00–18:00
Санитарный день:
последняя пятница месяца
Купить билет