BUY TICKETS
Dear visitors, the SOLO-marathon has been canceled. We apologize for any inconvenience. In the next three days we will refund all those who bought a ticket.

Collection

In 1894 was created the Priamursky section of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society. A memorandum addressed to the Governor-General of the Priamurye Territory Sergey Mikhailovich Dukhovsky on the necessity of opening a geographical society branch in the Far East was drafted by Vasily Nikolaevich Radakov (1836-1910), military medical inspector of the Priamurye Military District, actively engaged in zoological and anthropological research, who later became the first director of the Grodekovsky Museum. "The natural conditions of the Amur region are highly varied... In it, the polar nature encounters almost tropical flora and fauna. Russians, Chinese, Japanese, Yukaghirs, Ainu and other non-Russian people trade in the same place and in the same area you can meet Buryat datsans, Chinese kumirs, shaman sacrificial trees and Ainu-Oori bear cults...". Which determined the main profile of the future IRGO PO museum - natural-historical and ethnographic.

At the suggestion of S. M. Dukhovskiy, Nikolai Ivanovich Grodekov (1843-1913), the first assistant to S. M. Dukhovskiy, was elected the chairman of the young Priamursky department of IRGO.

N.I. Grodekov, with his usual vigor, began to replenish the museum's collections.

Thanks to N.I. Grodekov the main collections of the museum were formed: natural science, historical and everyday life, archeological, numismatic.

Besides, N.I. Grodekov initiated various natural-science and ethnographic expeditions, supported researchers who devoted their time to little-studied territories and nationalities of the region. Many items collected during expeditions, at Nikolai Ivanovich's insistence, went into the museum's collection (materials collected by P.P. Shimkevich, N.L. Gondatti, V.K. Arseniev, etc.).

The foundation of the natural science collection was laid in 1894, simultaneously with the opening of the museum. In May 1894, the Museum had "... up to 450 rooms in zoology, not counting 15 boxes with collections of insects and up to 100 jars with spirit preparations, ..., 3 herbaria in botany ...". The first director of the museum, V.N. Radakov, put a lot of effort into the arrangement of this section of the exposition and the funds.

It was during this period that a unique object, an almost complete skeleton of the now extinct Steller's sea cow (1897), came into the museum.

Then, an equally unique skeleton of the fin whale, one of the largest animals on our planet. This was a gift from Earl G. G. Keyserling in 1900, head of the powerful industrial organization "Pacific Whaling and Fishing Society of Gr. G. G. Keyserling & Co.о"The skeleton was assembled at the end of 1902. At the end of 1902, the assembly and installation of the skeleton for viewing was completed. The whale skeleton is currently on display in the closed gallery of the Amur Museum.

Most donations to the museum came from Prokopiy Trifonovich Bykov, a Cossack of the Kozlovskaya District Cossack Association, the future first preparator of the museum. As early as the beginning of 1893, he donated 323 specimens of beetles of rare species, 60 specimens of hymenoptera, about 420 of scales, skins of birds, animals and turtles, alcohol solutions of fish, horns of guran, and samples of charcoal. In the same year later - a stuffed Siberian squirrel. In 1894 he was offered to be a preparator in the museum. In the "Brief history of the Priamursky department of the IRGO" it was said that "big stuffed animals were made by P.T. Bykov as a preparator of the Museum: a walrus, an elk, two bears, a bear cub, a tiger with a boar, a cabbage and other various animals: 12 animals, 20 birds and 9 fish". Cooperation with the museum PT Bykov continued in subsequent years. He gave over 50 ethnographic objects (1897, 1909) and a collection of butterflies (1901).

The formation of the museum's ethnographic collection began in 1893-1894 when preparations for the creation of the museum were underway. Already on March 5, 1895 (less than a year later) the Priamurskie Vedomosti newspaper described the ethnographic collection of the Khabarovsk POIRGO museum as extremely rich and diverse. In 1895-1896 an official on special assignments to the Priamur Governor General P. P. Shimkevich (1862-1920) gathered an interesting collection on the ethnography of the Evenks, the Yakuts, the Negidals and the Nanai. In the second half of 1896, a large collection on Chukchi culture was presented to the Museum by N.L. Gondatti (1860-1946), head of the Anadyr district.

The beginning of the Asia-Pacific countries collection is connected with the name of a Khabarovsk merchant of Chinese origin Tifontai, who in 1895 gave the museum the robe of a rich Chinese woman. Already by the beginning of 1896 the exhibits on the culture of Japan, China and Korea together with ethnographic objects amounted to 1012 rooms. In the second half of 1897, A. S. Bogdanov, the son of a famous Khabarovsk merchant, donated to the museum "a Chinese copper vase for candles on the altar from the town of Bayan-su on the Sungari River" - a Chinese ritual temple cauldron for candles.

In one of the first reports of the Priamursky section of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society there are the following lines: "In general, there was general sympathy for the museum, expressed in donations not only by members of the department and intellectuals in general, but also by common people. For example, one boy donated a Japanese coin of two hay...". 

By the beginning of the 20th century, the museum's numismatic collection had already taken shape in general terms. When in 1903 the necessity arose to hand over the Museum because its director V.K. Brazhnikov was about to leave, K.E. Pfaffius, the head of the POIRGO department, wrote: "At the present time the collections of the Museum are so valuable (the numismatic collection alone costs several thousand) that it would be too risky to let the property slide". In 1905, the first museum numismatic exhibition was held, which presented Russian coins to visitors and became a permanent part of the exposition.

N.I. Grodekov considered it necessary to have for display to Khabarovsk audience the items related to the development of the Amur Region, reflecting the heroic history of returning the Amur River to Russia in the mid-19th century.

Already in the beginning of 1896 N.I. Grodekov sent to the Cossack armies his letters and telegrams with the request to send him samples of old Cossack weapons and uniforms of the times of Count N.N. Muravyov-Amursky.

The uniforms for the museum were prepared by the Cossacks of the Transbaikal Cossack troops, which was reported to N.I. Grodekov by E.O. Matsievsky in his letter.

The Chancellor ataman of the Transbaikal Cossack Army Evgeny Osipovich Matsiyevsky (1893-1901) was a highly educated and intelligent man. As military governor of Transbaikalian region, he contributed to the opening of the Transbaikal Spiritual Consistory, a female diocesan school, a female gymnasium, the first trade school, a museum and library. E.O. Matsievsky supported the initiative of creating the Chita branch of the IRGO and became its first chairman in 1894. He actively cared about replenishing the collections not only of the Chita Museum, but also of the Khabarovsk Natural History Museum.

By order of E.O. Matsievsky specially for display in the Khabarovsk museum "there were three copies of a chekmen with trousers: one of a mounted Cossack with his sidearms, one of an artillerist and one of a foot squad leader; a hats of a footman, a cap of a mounted Cossack and one ... kushak". It was impossible to get old suits, so by order of E.O.Matsiyevsky it was decided to bring to the Museum standard suits. 70 roubles were allocated from the funds of the chancellery of army board to "make the uniform", the expenses were compensated by the PO IRGO. The uniform was delivered by lieutenant colonel Belkovich. It is not known, if the Cossack uniforms of the first rafting times were delivered to the museum or if the funds were transferred to ZKV for the work on replenishing the museum collections, because the correspondence ends there.

In September 1897 E.O. Matsievsky sent to the museum on request of N.I. Grodekov two rifles of old systems, formerly in service of Cossacks.

"Two rifles with their accessories: one of the Karle system and the other seven-line rifle" were sent to the museum in November 1897 from the Kamen-Rybolov settlement in the Primorsky Region. Moreover the commander of the Ussurian Cossack division, military petty officer Tokmanov (?) assured the chairman of the PO IRGO Ivan Pavlovich Nadarov, that in the near future he will send other old-style weapons to the museum as well, "if the population of the division will have them.

However N.I. Grodekov forbade to take away the weapons owned by Cossacks and asked to send to the Khabarovsk museum only the samples stored in the arsenals of stanitsas of Kozlovskaya or Kazakevichovskaya, which he personally inspected. First of all, it was about the Littich rifle with two rifle rifles.

In the summer of 1901 a wooden cannon was donated to the museum, built to the design of the chief of the 2nd section of the 2nd section of the Amur basin waterways A. Kalyuyevskaya in July 1900 to protect telegraph line Pokrovka to Blagoshensk. Kalyuzhny in Chernyaeva station of AKV in July 1900 for protection of telegraph line from Pokrovka to Blagoveshensk from Chinese. The cannon was made of "smoky tube, coiled by steel telegraph wire, heated till red, in two layers, breech part in three layers, the bottom of tube was riveted by a plate one inch thick and wrapped by wire and poured by copper and the whole tube, with coiled wire on it, The tube is covered with copper solder, so it is a kind of twisted barrel, compact mass, which in its turn was enclosed in a wooden body, consisting of 4 carefully fitted birch bars, on which the tire iron rods are bent in a red-hot state. The cannon has withstood more than a hundred shots, with cannonballs and buckshot. The charge is calculated in proportion to the weight of the berdanium cartridge and equals 3/8 of a pound of powder. It shoots quite correctly at the target, for which it has a sight adjusted by test firing. Range of the cartridge is up to 250 sazhens, nucleus up to 1.5 versts...".[1].

In 1898 despite the appointment to the high post of the Amur Governor General, and leaving the post of the Chairman of IRGO, N.I. Grodekov continued to care about the development of the museum.

Thanks to numerous donations, the number of exhibits in the museum quickly increased. At the time of its opening (April 19, 1894), the museum contained about a thousand exhibits, and a month later the collections were placed in five rooms of the pharmacy warehouse. On August 1, 1900, the museum was inaugurated in its own building, specially built for its needs.

In 1900, the museum took part in the world exhibition in Paris. The museum received a gold medal for its unique collection.

List of photos:

Grodekovo Museum in the early twentieth century.


[1] In the quotation the spelling and punctuation of the document is preserved.

BUY TICKETS
Khabarovsk,
Shevchenko st., 11
look at the map
Mon: Day off
Tues-Whs: 10:00-18:00
Sanitation Day:
last Friday of the month
Buy tickets

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ
Уважаемые посетители! Обращаем Ваше внимание, что макет фрегата "Паллада" (корабль на втором этаже Главного корпуса) временно находится на реконструкции. В целях безопасности просим Вас и Ваших детей не забираться на корабль, пока проходит ремонт.

Коллекция

В 1894 г. было создан Приамурский отдел Императорского Русского географического общества. Докладная записка на имя генерал-губернатора Приамурского края Сергея Михайловича Духовского о необходимости появления на Дальнем Востоке отделения географического общества  была составлена Василием Николаевичем Радаковым (1836-1910), военно-медицинским инспектором Приамурского военного округа, активно занимавшегося зоологическими и антропологическими исследованиями, впоследствии ставшего первым директором Гродековского музея. «Природные условия Приамурского края в высшей степени разнообразны… В нем полярная природа сталкивается почти с тропическою флорою и фауною. Русские, китайцы и японцы, юкагиры, айны и другие инородцы в одном и том же месте ведут торговлю,  и в одной и той же местности вы встречаете бурятские дацаны, китайскую кумирню, шаманские жертвенные деревья и айно-ороческий культ медведя…»     Что определило основной профиль будущего музея ПО ИРГО – естественно-исторический и этнографический.

По предложению С.М. Духовского председателем образованного молодого Приамурского отдела ИРГО заочно был избран Николай Иванович Гродеков (1843-1913), состоявший первым помощником при С.М. Духовском.

Н.И. Гродеков с присущей ему энергией взялся за пополнение коллекций музея.

Благодаря Н.И. Гродекову было положено начало собиранию основных коллекций музея: естественнонаучной, историко-бытовой, археологической, нумизматической.

Кроме того, Н.И. Гродеков инициировал различные естественнонаучные и этнографические экспедиции, поддерживал исследователей, посвятивших время малоисследованным территориям и народностям региона. Многие предметы, собранные в ходе экспедиций, по настоянию Николая Ивановича поступали в коллекцию музея (материалы, собранные П.П. Шимкевичем, Н.Л. Гондатти, В.К. Арсеньевым и др.).

Основы формирования естественнонаучной коллекции заложены в 1894 г., одновременно с открытием музея. В мае 1894 г. в музее числилось «… по зоологии до 450 номеров, не считая 15 ящиков с коллекциями насекомых и до 100 банок со спиртовыми препаратами, …, по ботанике 3 гербария …» К устройству этого раздела экспозиции и фондов приложил много усилий первый директор музея В.Н. Радаков.

Именно в этот период в музей поступил уникальный предмет – практически полный скелет исчезнувшей ныне морской коровы Стеллера (1897 г.).

Затем, не менее уникальный скелет кита финвала, одного из самых крупных животных нашей планеты. Это был дар графа Г.Г. Кейзерлинга в 1900 г., главы мощной промышленной организации «Тихоокеанское китобойное и рыбопромышленное общество гр. Г.Г. Кейзерлинга и Ко», существовавшей до 1909 г. В конце 1902 г. была закончена сборка и установка скелета для обозрения. В настоящее время скелет кита демонстрируется в закрытой галерее Музея Амура.

Больше всего пожертвований поступило в музей от казака окружной станицы Козловской УКВ Прокопия Трифоновича Быкова, будущего первого препаратора музея. Еще в начале 1893 г. им были переданы в дар 323 экземпляра жуков редких видов, 60 экз. перепончатокрылых, около 420 чешуекрылых, шкуры птиц, зверьков и черепах, спиртовые растворы рыб, рога гурана, образцы каменного угля. В этом же году позднее – чучело сибирской белки. В 1894 г. ему предложили стать препаратором в музее. В «Краткой истории Приамурского отдела ИРГО» говорилось, что «препаратором музея П.Т. Быковым были изготовлены крупные чучела: моржа, лося, 2-х медведей, медвежонка, тигра с кабаном, калуги и других разных зверей: 12 зверей, 20 птиц и 9 рыб». Сотрудничество с музеем П.Т. Быков продолжил и в последующие годы. Им были переданы более 50 этнографических предметов (1897 г., 1909 г.), коллекция бабочек (1901 г.).

Формирование музейной этнографической коллекции началось в 1893-1894 гг., когда шла подготовка к созданию музея. Уже 5 марта 1895 г. (менее чем через год) газета «Приамурские ведомости» охарактеризовала этнографическое собрание Хабаровского музея ПОИРГО как чрезвычайно богатое и разнообразное. В 1895-1896 гг. чиновник особых поручений при Приамурском генерал-губернаторе П.П. Шимкевич (1862-1920) собрал для музея интересную коллекцию по этнографии эвенков, якутов, негидальцев, нанайцев. Во 2-й половине 1896 г. обширную коллекцию по культуре чукчей подарил музею начальник Анадырской округи Н.Л. Гондатти (1860-1946).

Начало коллекции стран азиатско-тихоокеанского региона связывают с именем хабаровского купца китайского происхождения Тифонтая, который в 1895 г.  передал в музей халат богатой китаянки. Уже к началу 1896 г. экспонаты по культуре Японии, Китая и Кореи вместе с этнографическими предметами составляли 1012 номеров. Во 2-й половине 1897 г. А.С. Богданов, сын известного хабаровского купца, пожертвовал в музей «китайскую медную вазу для свечей на жертвеннике из г. Баян-сусу на р. Сунгари» — китайский ритуальный храмовый котел для свечей.

В одном из первых отчетов Приамурского отдела Императорского Русского Географического общества есть такие строки: «Вообще замечалось всеобщее сочувствие к музею, выразившееся в пожертвованиях не только членов отдела и вообще интеллигентных лиц, но и лиц простого звания. Например, один мальчик пожертвовал японскую монету в 2 сена…». 

Уже к началу ХХ в. нумизматическая коллекция музея оформилась в общих чертах. Когда в 1903 г. возникла необходимость срочной передачи музея в связи с отъездом его директора В.К. Бражникова, правитель дел ПОИРГО К.Е. Пфаффиус писал: «Коллекции музея в настоящее время настолько ценны (одна нумизматическая коллекция стоит несколько тысяч), что допустить сдачу имущества кое-как – слишком рискованное дело».  В 1905 г. состоялась первая музейная нумизматическая выставка, представлявшая посетителям русские монеты и ставшая постоянной частью экспозиции.

Н.И. Гродеков считал необходимым иметь для показа хабаровской публике предметы, связанные с освоением Приамурского края, отражающие героическую историю возвращения р. Амур России в середине ХIХ в.

Уже в начале 1896 г. Н.И. Гродеков разослал по казачьим войскам письма и телеграммы с просьбой прислать образцы старого казачьего оружия и обмундирования времен графа Н.Н. Муравьева-Амурского.

Обмундирование для музея было подготовлено казаками Забайкальского казачьего войска, о чем сообщил в письме Н.И. Гродекову Е. О. Мациевский.

Наказной атаман Забайкальского казачьего войска Евгений Осипович Мациевский (1893-1901) был высокообразованным и интеллигентным человеком. Будучи военным губернатором Забайкальской области, способствовал открытию Забайкальской духовной консистории, женского епархиального училища, женской гимназии, первого ремесленного училища, музея и библиотеки. Е.О. Мациевский поддержал инициативу создания в 1894 г. Читинского отделения ПО ИРГО и стал первым его председателем. Активно заботился о пополнении коллекций не только Читинского музея, но и Хабаровского естественноисторического.

По распоряжению Е.О. Мациевского специально для показа в музее г. Хабаровска «построены чекмень с шароварами в трех экземплярах: один конного казака с напатронниками, другой артиллериста и третий – пешего урядника; папаха пешего, фуражка конного казака и один … кушак». Шаровары старого образца достать не удалось, поэтому по распоряжению Е.О. Мациевского принято решение доставить в музей образцовые шаровары. Из средств канцелярии войскового правления на «постройку обмундирования» было выделено 70 рублей, компенсировать затраты должен был ПО ИРГО. Доставку обмундирования осуществлял подполковник Белькович. Осталось неизвестным, была ли казачья униформа времен первых сплавов доставлена в музей, были ли перечислены средства ЗКВ за хлопоты по пополнению коллекций музея, так как на этом переписка обрывается.

В сентябре 1897 г. Е.О. Мациевский отправил в музей по просьбе Н.И. Гродекова два ружья старых систем, бывших на вооружении казаков в прежние времена.

«Две винтовки с принадлежностями к ним: одна из них системы Карле и другая семилинейная» были присланы в музей в ноябре 1897 г. из п. Камень-Рыболов Приморской области. Более того, командир Уссурийского казачьего дивизиона войсковой старшина Токманов (?) уверил председателя ПО ИРГО Ивана Павловича Надарова, что в скором времени пришлет в музей и другое оружие старого образца, «если таковое будет у населения дивизиона».

Однако Н.И. Гродеков запретил отбирать оружие, находящееся в собственности у казаков, и просил прислать в хабаровский музей лишь образцы, хранящиеся в арсеналах станиц Козловской или Казакевичевской, которые он лично обозревал. Прежде всего, речь шла о литтихском штуцере с двумя нарезами.

В летний период 1901 г. музею была пожертвована деревянная пушка, сооруженная по проекту начальника 2-ой дистанции II участка Водных путей Амурского бассейна А. Калюжного в ст. Черняевой АКВ в июле 1900 г. для защиты телеграфной линии от Покровки до Благовещенска от китайцев. Пушка была изготовлена из «дымогарной трубки, обвитой стальной телеграфной проволокой, нагревавшейся до красна, в два ряда, казенная часть в три ряда, дно трубки заклепано пластинкой в дюйм толщины и обернуто проволокой и залито медью и вся трубка, с навитой на ней проволокой, облита медным припоем, таким образом получился род витого ствола, компактной массы, который в свою очередь был заключен в деревянный корпус, состоящий из 4-х тщательно пригнанных березовых брусков, на который нагнаны в раскаленном состоянии бугеля из шинного железа. Пушка выдержала более ста выстрелов, ядрами и картечью. Заряд рассчитан пропорционально весу берданочного патрона и равен 3/8 фунта пороха. Стреляет довольно правильно в цель, для чего приспособлен выверенный пробной стрельбой прицел. Дальность полета картечи до 250 сажень, ядра до 1,5 верст…»[1].

В 1898 г. несмотря на назначение на высокий пост Приамурского генерал-губернатора, оставление поста председателя ПО ИРГО, Н.И. Гродеков продолжал заботиться о развитии музея.

Благодаря многочисленным пожертвованиям число экспонатов музея в кратчайшие сроки увеличивается. Если на момент открытия  (19 апреля 1894 г.) в музее числилось около тысячи экспонатов, то уже спустя месяц  коллекции удалось разместить  в пяти комнатах аптечного склада. А 1 августа 1900 г. состоялось торжественное открытие музея в собственном специально построенном для его  нужд здании.

В 1900 г. музей принял участие во всемирной выставке в Париже. За представленную уникальную коллекцию музей получил золотую медаль.

Список фото:

Экспозиции Гродековского музея в начале ХХ в.


[1] В цитате сохранена орфография и пунктуация документа.

КУПИТЬ БИЛЕТ
г. Хабаровск,
ул. Шевченко, 11
смотреть на карте
Пн: Выходной
Вт–Вс: 10:00–18:00
Санитарный день:
последняя пятница месяца
Купить билет